Showing posts with label Button. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Button. Show all posts

Tuesday, 5 July 2011

Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop



Last Saturday I was checking Dribbble for some inspiration when I came across this beautiful design created by a Portuguese designer called Emanuel Sa. It was an icon with some beautiful metal effects, so I decided to learn how to do that in Photoshop.


So in this tutorial I will show you how to create a nice metallic button using Layer Styles in Photoshop.


Step 1


Open Photoshop and create a new document, the size I am using is 2560x1440 pixels because it's a nice HD wallpaper size. After that with the Ellipse Tool (U), create a circle in black.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 2


Create another circle, smaller and align both in the center of the document, after that, create a marquee selection of the smaller circle. To do that is super simple, just hold the Command (MAC)/ Control (PC) key and click on the thumb of the layer of the circle.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 3


Select the big circle and go to Layer>Layer Mask>Hide Selection. You will have a nice ring ready to add some chrome effects.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 4


Go to Layer>Layer Styles>Color Overlay. Use a dark grey for the color.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 5


Select Bevel and Emboss, then for the values use Inner Bevel for the Style, 550% for the Depth, 32 pixels for the Size, 2 pixesl for the Soften, 100º for the Angle, 30º for the Altitude. Also change the Gloss Contour for the one I am using in the image below as well as the values for the Highlight and Shadow mode.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 6


Select Inner Glow and use Color Dodge for the Blend Mode, 75% for the Opacity, white for the color. Then for the Choke use 0% and the Size 6 pixels.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 7


Select Drop Shadow and use the values below, make sure that the angle is 90º and that you didn't mark Use Global light.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 8


Create a black circle in the middle and then add another one a little smaller to create the center part of the button



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 9


With the small circle of the center selected, go to Layer>Layer Style> Gradient Overlay. Use Normal for the Blend Mode, 100% for the Opacity, and for the Gradient use a dark grey to black and Linear. Also for the Angle use 90º and Scale it to 75%.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 10


Select Bevel and Emboss. Use Inner Bevel for the Style, 80% for the Depth, 3 pixels for the Size and 0 for the Soften. For the Shading options use the image below.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 11


Add another circle using the Ellipse Tool (U), the with the Direct Selection Tool (A) edit the points and also with the Pen Tool (P) add 2 points and delete other 2 that were the horizontal center ones. The image below shows how this shape will look like.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 12


Go to Layer>Layer Styles>Gradient Overlay. Use Screen for the Blend Mode use Screen. For the Opacity use 100% and for the Gradient use white and black for the colors, for the Angle use 90º and for the Scale use 140%.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 13


Here is the final result of our button/badge. Now it's time to add your logo. I used the Abduzeedo symbol I created in Illustrator and pasted in Photoshop so I could apply some layer styles.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 14


With the logo selected go to Layer>Layer Styles>Gradient Overlay. Use the image below for values and the gradient colors. Then apply a bevel and emboss.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 15


Here is the final result of our logo with the metal symbol.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 16


Let's create a nice texture for the background, to do that just select the background layer and go to Filter>Noise>Add Noise. Use 5% for the Amount, Gaussian for the Distribution and select Monochromatic.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 17


Go to Filter>Blur>Motion Blur. Use 0º for the Angle and 20 pixels for the Distance.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Step 18


Go to Layer>Layer Styles>Gradient Overlay. Use Multiply for the Blend Mode, 100% for the Opacity, black and white for the gradient color, Radial for the Style and 90º for the Angle.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Conclusion


As you could see the whole process was super simple, we just played with Layer Styles to create an amazing metal effect in Photoshop. This effect is perfect for icons or if you want to create a logo for an automobile company! Now it's all about practicing and trying different variations.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Version 2


Just playing with some light effects to create a nice Start button.



Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop


Download the Photoshop File


Download the Photoshop file used for this tutorials


About the author

Abduzeedo is a blog about design. There are all sorts of articles for those who want to look for inspiration. Also you will find very useful tutorials for the most used applications out there, with a special selection of Photoshop Tutorials and Illustrator Tutorials. You can get in follow us via Twitter at @abduzeedo


Sponsored Links:






Abduzeedo Inspiration Guide for Designers at Amazon

Generated by BlogIt

BlogIt - Auto Blogging Software for YOU!

BlogIt - autoblogging software for YOU

BlogIt - autoblogging software for YOU

Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button



A few weeks ago I wrote a tutorial showing how to create a stylish metallic button effect using Photoshop. In that tutorial I posted to conclusions and one of them had a light effect in the text. The tutorial was well received and a lot of people wanted to know how to create that effect.


So in this tutorial or quick tip because it's more about layer styles and we will use the base of a previous tutorial, I will show you how to create a super simple light effect using only layer styles, blend modes and the blur filter.


Step 1


Download the PSD from the Stylish Metallic Button in Photoshop tutorial and open it. Hide the symbol in the center of the button so we can create the light effect.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 2


With the Horizontal Type Tool (T) add the text you want, I typed START using Impact for the typeface. The color is not really important because we will apply some layer styles to create the effect.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 3


Go to Layer>Layer Styles>Color Overlay. Use Blue #5ba0c8 for the color.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 4


Select Inner Glow, for the Blend Mode use Color Dodge with 65% Opacity, white for the color, Center for the Source, 4% for the Choke and 10 pixels for the Size. Also change the Range to 52%.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 5


Select Outer Glow. Use Screen for the Blend Mode, 42% for the Opacity, blue (#33b5ff) for the Color, 0% for the Spread, 13 pixels for the Size.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 6


Select Inner Shadow, then for the Blend Mode use Darker Color with black for the color. For the Opacity use 76% with 127º for the Angle. For the Distance use 2 pixels, 0% for the Choke and 5 pixels for the Size.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 7


Now a very important part of the effect, create the scanlines effect. To do that is pretty simple, just create a new document with 10 pixels of width and 2 pixels height. Then create a black rectangle of 10x1 pixels so you will have one line black and another in white. After that go to Edit>Define Pattern. Name your pattern and your are good to go.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 8


Create a new layer and fill it with the pattern background, then create a marquee selection of the text by clicking on the thumbnail of the icon holding Command (MAC)/Control (PC)



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 9


Go to Layer>Layer Mask>Reveal Selection, so the pattern will be visible only within the marquee selection area. After that change the Blend Mode to Overlay.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Step 10


Duplicate the text layer and go to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Use 10 pixels for the Radius. Then group the layer into a folder and change its blend mode to Soft Light.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


Conclusion


You can merge all the layers used to create the button and duplicate them twice, then apply a gaussian blur to both. For the one beneath change the blend mode to Overlay and for one at the top use screen, both at 40% Opacity. After that the light effect is pretty much done.


The cool thing about this effect is that it works amazingly well for texts, but when you have symbols with larger areas you will have to make a few tweeks in the Layer Styles, nothing that will be completely different though.



Photoshop Quick Tip: Light Effect Text Button


About the author

Abduzeedo is a blog about design. There are all sorts of articles for those who want to look for inspiration. Also you will find very useful tutorials for the most used applications out there, with a special selection of Photoshop Tutorials and Illustrator Tutorials. You can get in follow us via Twitter at @abduzeedo


Sponsored Links:






Abduzeedo Inspiration Guide for Designers at Amazon

Generated by BlogIt

BlogIt - Auto Blogging Software for YOU!

BlogIt - autoblogging software for YOU

BlogIt - autoblogging software for YOU